Biosecurity is a department under the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Forestry, Fisheries and Biosecurity (MALFFB). Biosecurity was formerly known as the Vanuatu Quarantine and Inspection Services (VQIS) under the department of Livestock and Quarantine. In 2013, we became known as the department of Biosecurity. There are about 44 staffs all over Vanuatu and our two main offices are located in Port Vila, Efate, and Luganville in Santo. We also have outpost offices in Sola, Vanua Lava in the Banks islands, Lakatoro on Malekula, Lenakel on Tanna and Anelgauhat on Aneityum. Our outpost offices are located at the certified ports of entry. The department has a director, two principal officers, and senior officers who manage the the administration and enforcement of services.

Biosecurity is the management of risks to protect our health, environment, economy and industries from exotic pests and pathogens from entering, establishing and spreading in Vanuatu. Biosecurity Vanuatu is mandated to protect our borders and facilitate trade. There are agencies that Biosecurity works closely with such as the department of Customs and Inland Revenue, the department of Environment Protection and Conservation, the department of External Trade, the department of Public Health, department of Ports & Harbor, Airports Vanuatu Ltd, Vanuatu Post Ltd, Customs brokers and the departments under the Ministry of Agriculture (MALFFB).

The powers of Biosecurity are set out in the Laws of the Republic of Vanuatu which are; Plant Protection Act [CAP 239], Animal Importation and Quarantine Act [CAP 201], Meat Industry Act [CAP 239], Pesticides (Control) Act [CAP 226], Animal Disease Control Act [CAP 220] and Kava Act No. 7 of 2002.